Project Icarus: Presentation Slides

Following on from his talk on Wednesday night, Kelvin Long has kindly allowed us to post up a copy of his presentation slides. So if you attended and want to take a closer look at some of the details, or want to a get at glimpse at what you missed, click on the image below. (The pdf file may take a few moments to download)

If you want to know more about Project Icarus, check out the Icarus Interstellar website.  And Kelvin’s book “Deep Space Propulsion” is available via the NEAS Store.


Posted on 21 June, 2012, in Astronomy News, Popular Science, Society News, Space exploration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi! I am not much good at the astronomy thing.. but I do find the night sky fascinating and always have! However.. over the last few nights I have noticed something I have not seen before. I have done considerable research but cannot find the answer on the internet.
    My garden faces north in Hockley just down the road from you!
    If I look up to the north east I can see Cassiopeia which I DO recognize.
    Lower down and to the right (more east) is the moon.
    Below the moon virtually in a straight line are three obvious stars. (Planets?)
    The central one is large and bright white light. The one to the left is smaller and has an almost green twinkle. The one on the right is small too and twinkles a sort of pale peachy pink colour.
    This is usually around 10pm until roughly midnight.
    Please would you kindly tell me what I am looking at? It’s starting to do my head in.
    On all the sky maps I can find nothing that looks like this.
    Many thanks and hugz
    Wendy Nield

  2. Hi Wendy,

    Around that time of night last week, the planet Jupiter was rising to the left of the Moon.
    Next to Jupiter you possibly would have seen two fairly bright stars – Capella (a yellowish star) to the left and Arcturus (an orangey star) to the right. It can make for quite an interesting sight on the northern horizon.

    Now because these three objects were quite low down in the sky, and are all fairly bright, the atmosphere would have caused them to appear twinkling and possibly changing colour slightly. “Atmospheric scintillation” is what this is called.

    If you ever want to know a bit more about what’s in the sky, I’d recommend this book by Ian Ridpath http://www.theworks.co.uk/Astronomy-DK-Eyewitness-Companions-by-Ian-Ridpath/9781405312912.html or download the free planetarium program called Stellarium – http://www.stellarium.org/ (or come along to one of our stargazing nights in Braintree!)

    Hope that helps and thanks for contacting us.
    David.

  3. Thank you SO SO much for taking the time and trouble to reply. I do so hate not knowing things and am prone to research but in this case I could not find anything that tallied with what I was seeing! The sky is really rather pretty on clear nights at the moment! I love to sit out at night and just stare and muse.

    Until recently I used to spend a great deal of time in rural France. No light pollution and it was BREATHTAKING! I had never seen the milky way before in England as I have always lived on the edges of big towns. AWESOME! 😀

    I am truly grateful for your help.

    I big HUG for you! 😉

    Wendy xxx

    ________________________________

